iPad set for release in another nine countries this Friday


July 19, 2010

Apple's iPad will be released in another nine countries this Friday

Apple's iPad will be released in another nine countries this Friday

Image Gallery (2 images)

Apple has announced that its iPad will be available in an additional nine countries from Friday, July 23. All varieties of both the Wi-Fi and Wi-Fi + 3G models will hit Apple’s retail stores and Apple Authorized Resellers in Austria, Belgium, Hong Kong, Ireland, Luxembourg, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand and Singapore.

The release will bring to 19 the number of countries where the iPad is available, following the initial US release on April 30 and the May 28 release to Australia, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Spain, Switzerland and the UK that was initially delayed due to US customers snapping up the bulk of stock.

Just 80 days after its initial US release Apple had notched up sales of three million of the devices, putting paid to speculation from pundits before its release that consumers might not embrace a device that sits somewhere between a smartphone and a laptop.

If you’re one of those still questioning the benefits of the iPad check out our hands-on iPad review.

About the Author
Darren Quick Darren's love of technology started in primary school with a Nintendo Game & Watch Donkey Kong (still functioning) and a Commodore VIC 20 computer (not still functioning). In high school he upgraded to a 286 PC, and he's been following Moore's law ever since. This love of technology continued through a number of university courses and crappy jobs until 2008, when his interests found a home at Gizmag. All articles by Darren Quick
Post a Comment

Login with your Gizmag account:

Related Articles
Looking for something? Search our articles