Computational creativity and the future of AI

Entries open for 2013 James Dyson Award


April 9, 2013

The 2013 James Dyson Award is now accepting entries

The 2013 James Dyson Award is now accepting entries

It’s that time of year again when university students need to start thinking about finalizing the designs of their world-changing concepts so they’re ready for submission to the annual James Dyson Award. For 2013 the challenge remains the same – design something that solves a problem – but this year sees a tripling of the prize money for the ultimate winner from £10,000 (US$15,330) to £30,000 (US$45,900).

Started in 2007 to inspire young people about design engineering, the James Dyson Award is open to university level students or recent graduates who have studied product design, industrial design or engineering in Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Russia, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland, UK and USA.

Entries close on August 1st with a panel of design and engineering professors and professionals from each of the 18 participating countries then selecting the National winners – who will each receive £2,000 (US$3,066) – and finalists, which will be announced on September 12.

A panel of Dyson engineers will then cut the field down to a shortlist that will be announced on October 10. James Dyson will them select the ultimate winning student or student team who will be announced on November 7 and receive £30,000 for themselves and £10,000 for their university department. Just as valuable as the prize money is the exposure the award brings the winners.

The U.K. and Australia have dominated the awards since their inception, with the inaugural winner from Germany’s Maxi Pantel (the Senjo) the only exception. U.K. entries claimed the 2008 (Michael Chen’s Reactiv), 2009 (Automist from Yusuf Muhammad and Paul Thomas) and 2012 (Dan Watson’s SafetyNet) awards, with Australia taking it out in 2010 (Longreach from Samuel Adeloju) and 2011 (Edward Linacre’s Airdrop).

Only time will tell if that domination continues. Some entries have already been received – including the Revolights we covered recently – and can be viewed via the source link.

Source: 2013 James Dyson Award

About the Author
Darren Quick Darren's love of technology started in primary school with a Nintendo Game & Watch Donkey Kong (still functioning) and a Commodore VIC 20 computer (not still functioning). In high school he upgraded to a 286 PC, and he's been following Moore's law ever since. This love of technology continued through a number of university courses and crappy jobs until 2008, when his interests found a home at Gizmag.   All articles by Darren Quick
Post a Comment

Login with your gizmag account:

Or Login with Facebook:

Related Articles
Looking for something? Search our 31,331 articles
Recent popular articles in Good Thinking
Product Comparisons