Top 100: The most desirable cars of all time

Review: DJI Phantom quadcopter

By

March 26, 2013

Gizmag reviews the DJI Phantom quadcopter

Gizmag reviews the DJI Phantom quadcopter

Image Gallery (12 images)

Whether you call it a quadcopter, quadrocopter, quadrotor, UAV or (gasp) a drone, DJI’s new GPS-equipped Phantom is certainly a nifty little radio-controlled aircraft. We first heard about the Phantom when it was officially launched this January and since then I've had a chance to try out the, uh – let’s call it a quadcopter – for myself. Here’s a quick look at my experiences with it, and I'll say this right now: the thing was more fun than a barrel full of flying monkeys.

Getting it together

Upon opening the box, I discovered that the Phantom required some basic assembly. I followed along with one of the well-produced instructional videos on the DJI website, though, and it turned out to be pretty straightforward. I also downloaded the Quick Start Manual, just to make sure the video wasn’t leaving anything out.

Those videos – along with the manual, to a lesser extent – also proved invaluable when learning to fly the quadcopter.

Adding an eye in the sky

The Phantom is promoted as being an excellent aerial platform for the GoPro HERO actioncam, and it comes with an adjustable-angle mount designed specifically for the camera. Unfortunately, in order to fit the camera into that mount, you have to remove its protective outer housing. Additionally, that mount doesn’t have room for any of the HERO’s add-on modules, such as the LCD screen or extra battery.

The Phantom's supplied camera housing

Given that I anticipated making some unavoidably rough landings on the hard, uneven late-winter snow, I decided that my HERO wasn’t about to fly “unclothed.” There is a solution to this dilemma however – the GoPro’s housing can be mounted to the quadcopter in exactly the same way as the provided mount. Whichever method you choose, the camera ends up upside-down, so you’ll either want to enable its video-flipping feature, or flip the footage yourself in editing.

Does anyone here speak Phantom?

When it was time for my first flight, I took the quadcopter to a nearby field, turned on its control unit first (as per the instructions), and then turned on the aircraft itself by installing its rechargeable 2200mAh 11.1 V lithium-polymer battery.

The Phantom proceeded to perform a self-check on its systems, and relayed its findings via its single prominent RGB LED indicator – something that it does every time you use it. While the GoPro mount is really just a nit-pick, this method of status display is one of two things that I think could actually stand to be improved.

The Phantom's RGB LED indicator

The LED flashes on and off in various patterns of colors, first of all letting you know that the systems are warming up, and then potentially alerting you to the facts that the Phantom’s compass can’t be calibrated, it can’t find enough GPS satellites, or it’s just too cold. Unfortunately, unless you’ve used the aircraft many times, there’s no way of knowing which of those things these patterns mean, without having a printout or download of the manual close at hand – even then, cross-referencing the rapidly-blinking multiple colors with the written descriptions can be quite challenging. It would be far easier if the controller had a one-line calculator-like LCD screen, that displayed simple text messages like “Wait, initializing” or “Insufficient GPS satt.”

Getting it off the ground

I did eventually get it into the air, although I still wasn’t entirely clear on whether or not it was able to access enough satellites for all of its GPS features to work. This was the first time I’d ever flown a remote-control aircraft of any kind, plus it turns out the field I’d chosen wasn’t really big enough, so ... well, the rough landings I’d anticipated did indeed happen. Some of them even incorporated a violent descent through tree branches. To the Phantom’s immense credit, though, the only damage it appeared to sustain was a snapped landing strut – not a disabling injury, as it turned out.

Gluing a broken landing strut – the only damage sustained by the Phantom (that I know of)

The next few times I flew it, I chose a much larger field and ensured that there were enough satellites, plus I was just generally more experienced. It was a blast. Really opening up the throttle, I found that the quadcopter could go fast (10 meters/32.8 feet per second, going forward), it could go high (I don’t know how high, but it looked kind of scary), and it responded to commands instantaneously.

Battery life for all of my flights was about ten minutes, which is right in keeping with DJI’s figures. Although I definitely would have preferred a longer duration, existing battery technology will only take you so far – additionally, the Phantom was lugging my GoPro, and the temperature outside was right around freezing.

Some people might not like the idea of having to pay for its dedicated controller, as the AR Drone (which at US$300 costs a little less than half as much as the $679 Phantom) simply utilizes the user’s smartphone. I found that the two physical joysticks really made controlling the quadcopter intuitive, however, in a way that I doubt touchscreen controls could.

A sense of direction

Making things easier was the option of flying in GPS Attitude mode. This allowed the Phantom to hold its position in mid-air, automatically compensating for wind gusts. Additionally, it kept the quadcopter’s inertia from carrying it forward when coming to stops – as soon as I released the throttle control, the aircraft stopped moving.

The Phantom’s Enhanced Fail-safe feature also made the whole experience less intimidating. If the quadcopter had lost contact with the controller (such as if it had exceeded its 300-meter/984-foot radio range, or the controller’s batteries died), it would have simply flown itself back to its take-off point.

The Phantom has a maximum forward speed of 10 meters (32.8 feet) per second

I additionally experimented with its Intelligent Orientation Control, which is a handy feature for newbies like me. Ordinarily, when you want a remote-control aircraft to turn to your left (as an example), you have to first consider which way that aircraft is facing. If its nose is facing away from you, then the aircraft’s left is still your left – if the aircraft is coming towards you, however, then a left turn for it involves its moving to your right. The controls become reversed, which can be very disorienting.

By selecting one of the two Intelligent Orientation Control modes, however, a left turn on the controller will always result in the Phantom moving to your left – regardless of which way its front end is pointing. The same thing goes for right turns, obviously. While this would be impossible with a fixed-wing aircraft, it’s not such a tall order with a multi-directional, symmetrical-bodied quadcopter. It definitely makes those first flights simpler, although it’s probably not a feature you should come to rely on, plus it only works if the aircraft is at least 30 feet (nine meters) away.

Roll the video

Viewing the GoPro footage afterwards, I noticed that the vibrations of the Phantom’s motors and/or props caused the video to sort of roll and jiggle. This is something that other users have also complained about, and it’s known as the Jell-O effect. It’s not a deal-breaker for people who just want to watch the footage for fun, but it could definitely be an issue for people who want to use it in a video project.

When I asked DJI about it, I was directed to a YouTube video in which it’s suggested that the camera be set to 60 fps, GPS Attitude mode not be used (the constant adjustments make the quadcopter fly rougher), and the propellers be balanced. It may be good advice, although it involves more tinkering and compromise than some people might like. I'm wondering if it could have been possible to include a layer of vibration-dampening material between the quadcopter and the camera mount, as a way of keeping the video from resembling a popular jelled dessert.

Of course, if you’re not even interested in shooting video at all, then it's not a problem.

The Phantom has a radio range of 300 meters (984 feet)

Summing up

I’m still very much getting the hang of the Phantom, and look forward to improving my flying skills. So far, however, things that I’ve liked have included:

  • Tough construction
  • Simple assembly
  • Built-in GoPro attachment point
  • GPS-enabled position-holding
  • Intelligent Orientation Control
  • Physical joysticks, as opposed to touchscreen sliders
  • Impressive performance

As for some of the things that could be better ...

  • GoPro mount requires you to take off the camera housing
  • Those enigmatic LED codes
  • Jell-O video

A picture’s worth a thousand words, though, so check out my video review below. It contains some rather spectacular crashes, plus you’ll get to see my home-made snow-landing pontoons in action.

Product page: DJI Phantom

About the Author
Ben Coxworth An experienced freelance writer, videographer and television producer, Ben's interest in all forms of innovation is particularly fanatical when it comes to human-powered transportation, film-making gear, environmentally-friendly technologies and anything that's designed to go underwater. He lives in Edmonton, Alberta, where he spends a lot of time going over the handlebars of his mountain bike, hanging out in off-leash parks, and wishing the Pacific Ocean wasn't so far away.   All articles by Ben Coxworth
Tags
22 Comments

Nice review!

I really enjoy my phantom and it is my first flying machine. I'm just an amateur but with the Hero3, some DIY, and a little work in post, it is very capable. Here is a link to my most recent video:

You can also solve your jello problems with Sorbothane, that stuff is amazing! I have a tutorial for an isolation mount if you poke around my youtube channel, don't want to keep linking to my stuff here.

Tom Hirschmann
27th March, 2013 @ 08:51 am PDT

The "Jell-O effect" is known as "rolling shutter", and is a side effect of the type of CMOS image sensor used in cameras like the GoPro. The frame is not recorded instantaneously (as it is in a CCD sensor), but scans top to bottom over the duration of the frame. If the camera or the subject is moving, the image can be distorted, usually skewed. Vibration produces a nauseating wobble. Fortunately this can be compensated for in software - it's built-in to Apple's iMovie, and is available in a very effective VirtualDub plugin called Deshaker.

Synchro
27th March, 2013 @ 10:08 am PDT

Tom: That was a great video! Well done.

James P Pratt
27th March, 2013 @ 11:24 am PDT

Tom:

For your first flying machine, I'm impressed. The flying is awesome and your cinematography is top notch.....

Keep up the terrific work!

Fred Raimondi
27th March, 2013 @ 03:14 pm PDT

@Tom Hirschmann,

That was, hands-down, the best video of its type that I've ever seen. As an overall production, it could have, frankly, been better; but there were several truly inspired moments -- some of them even prolonged -- of camera work of which any vidographer would have been proud.

Very nice, indeed!

And kudos to you for the Sorbothane recommendation. I'm quite familiar with it from using it on gimbal-based "steady cam" type devices. It can take that very last bit of shakiness which even a "steady cam" can still have -- especially if the camera operator is traversing rough terrain -- and sufficiently eliminate it such that between the "steady cam" device, and that tiny bit of camera shake absorption provided by the Sorbothane, the result can be as if the camera operator were wearing a full-body-mounted, Steadicam-branded pro rig with a big pro camera.

So, then, you really know what you're doing. It shows.

Gregg DesElms
27th March, 2013 @ 03:37 pm PDT

Thank James and Fred! I appreciate it!

And thank you Gregg, that is very nice of you! I'm doing the best I can with the skills I have right now. I am working on my editing and post but trying my best and starting to catch on. I'm self taught so the learned curve has been pretty steep!

Sorbothane was a great find! I'm very happy to have stumbled on it. Happy to hear I'm on the right track!

@Synchro.. Unfortunately the Jello effect can't really be removed, it distorts the original image. Programs like Deshaker and Warp Stabilizer can't do much to fix distortion but are great for removing unwanted shake in a video by cropping the edges.

Tom Hirschmann
27th March, 2013 @ 06:18 pm PDT

Nice enough review...

Unfortunately the only thing these quads do for aerial photography is give it a bad name along with the noobs that fly them.

Soltron
27th March, 2013 @ 06:49 pm PDT

Tom I'm very disappointed in the video! You had this amazing technology at your finger tips and you didn't at any stage fly it near naked women. Shame on you!

Dick Fury
27th March, 2013 @ 07:28 pm PDT

Your comment on the coloured lights gains a lot of weight when you consider the millions of people that are colour blind like me. Plus males in the community that argue with ladies about colours, when really they are colour blind in that portion of the spectrum and don't know it. So I get frustrated by the amount of manufacturers that colour code their product functions. How they overcome this problem is maybe as you suggest, however at a distance the message would be hard to read.

ukatama
27th March, 2013 @ 07:38 pm PDT

Tom - astounding video! I admire your humility in including the crash at the end of the otherwise spectacular footage. Questions: were you the guy on the dock? If so, I assume you were using a video transmitter to pilot from the cam's pov? From the footage it seems almost impossible for you to have flown by simply observing the phantom from the ground. Also, how much noise do these things make? If it were being used to spy covertly, how close could it get without being heard? Anyone with info please feel free to respond...

Mark Robinson
30th March, 2013 @ 11:43 am PDT

Yeah Fury nailed it (almost). Tom did a great video job, one of the best I've seen here on Gizmag. But to get up to a David Lee Roth level he could scatter a few hot babes around. (Not quite naked). To not see one stretched out on the yatch was a tsk tsk tsk moment. But I'm betting that Tom will come around......Not a bad skill set for a first timer I say.

noteugene
30th March, 2013 @ 01:35 pm PDT

I saw a guy today (Easter Sunday) with one of these on top of Thurstaston Hill on the Wirral. It shot up into the air and into the distance like a bat out of hell. Unfortunately despite the owner's attempts to pilot it, it just kept going, until it hovered at about two hundred feet up and was but a tiny spec in the distance The "failsafe" return to launch site did not happen. I felt very sorry for the bloke as he set off across country in an attempt to locate it. I hope he found it along with the Hero camera which was attached, but I doubt if he could have found it.

Peter Julian Cliffe
31st March, 2013 @ 12:37 pm PDT

How does the go pro link back to you? It looked like you were sitting on the bench flying with goggles????

Also could you link it back to a large "live" television screen??

Nick D McCumber
13th May, 2013 @ 10:51 am PDT

If the DJI goes "rogue", just switch off the transmitter, and it *should* return to within a couple feet of the launch site. Best to lauch away from trees, etc., so that it can descend without hitting any tree branches, etc.

Easiest and one of the most fun R/C aircraft I've flown in 30 years...and I don't have to drive an hour round-trip to the R/C field to fly this at home.

Matt Rings
18th June, 2013 @ 02:06 pm PDT

You are able to mount the gopro upright using the included mount. You just have to put the longer side of the mount on the left instead of the right as your showing in the photo.

Darren Carillo
21st June, 2013 @ 03:21 pm PDT

There is actually two main problems with it which DJI claims to have fixed which is still giving many owners of the Phantom problems.

That failsafe mode where the controller losses communication and it is supposed to come back doesn't always work. When you attach a $300 GoPro camera with the $600 Drone, that means that you lost a $900 gadget. For the first dew flights, make sure that the drone does not fly away from you.

The other issue is that the mount for the GoPro Cameras could actually cause the entire drone to become unstable, especially when it is first taking off turning on the throttle. You want to hook up the camera and put it at a downward incline angle so that the camera is at the center of gravity.

Facebook User
18th August, 2013 @ 09:02 pm PDT

Now I’ll add my comments. I own a Phantom, and have flown it many hours. So, I know what I’m talking about; this is no cute little review from some dude that used the thing for twenty minutes.

Most of the topics have been covered and I will try to avoid redundancy; just some supplementary facts and comments.

First, the reviewer mentioned that the bracket for the Go Pro does not allow the inclusion of the waterproof housing or the optional rear view screen.

Huh?

First, anyone who knows anything about aviation in general will tell you that weight is the first consideration. You put nothing onto/into any aircraft that doesn’t need to be there. The massive case for the Go Pro is not needed for aerial use. SECOND, (this one kills me). Why would anyone want to attach a rearview screen to a remote camera that is going to be in use hundreds of feet above-the-ground? The operator, duh, is on the ground. Maybe equip the operator with some binoculars so he can see the screen?

Yes, the lights are a specious pain-in-the-butt. If you are color-blind. As I am. The other writer is right; when are these idiots going to figure out that red and green are useless as indicators for about a third of the male population. That having been said, the patterns of the indicator lights are quickly memorized, and the red light is recognizable even to the color-blind. So, this is really not a problem.

Okay, enough ranting about stupid comments. Reality time. My Phantom is controlled by an optional Futaba high-end radio control system (transmitter and receiver) so maybe the stock controller is not as good. Having said that, I unequivocally state that in at least twenty hours of flight I have never had so much as a glitch from the electronics or hardware in this device.

God, do I admit it? I must to maintain credibility. I have a pilot’s license. I have flown helicopters, fixed-wing (taildraggers), and gliders. I have hundreds of hours driving steam locomotives. So, how can someone as smart as me keep flying the Phantom into trees? No, not just trees; everything imaginable. I stopped counting the crashes at six when I realized that it wasn’t going to stop. My crashes were always due to recklessness or carelessness. The Phantom is 100% reliable. And, amazing, the thing is really put together. None of the crashes every disabled it. That includes clipping the top of a one-hundred foot pine tree. As it came bouncing down, all I could think was “Please God, don’t let it get stuck up there.”

For technicians, I will mention one little feature that no one but a total geek would notice. The frame or shell of the Phantom is a plastic shell, as light as possible. A top and bottom half. The two halves are held together with screws. Now, it would be very easy to take the cheap crap route and use self-tapping sheet metal screws jammed into the plastic. No, not this puppy. Each screw screws into a metal nut that is cast into the plastic frame. This is how it should be done. Significantly more expensive way to build something, but... the right way.

I give the Phantom a 10 out of ten. Now I have to go find something else to fly into.

Dave Yost
13th September, 2013 @ 10:54 am PDT

I have one to bought from digital discount camera in sydney.

It does not work! the phantom is all over the place

not happy at all.

Ed Elgers
17th September, 2013 @ 07:38 pm PDT

Unfortunately, the Phantom story is not as rosy for everyone. On my very first flight mine was lost. It was doing just fine while I was keeping it within 50 feet. Takeoffs, landing, hovering, spinning in place, it was all great. They I went a bit further away. When I reached maybe 150 to 200 feet, it decided to completely ignore my commands and shot off away from me. I haven't seen it since.

Since then, I've found that this has happened to enough people to make me wish I hadn't purchased the device in the first place. Thank god I hadn't attached my GoPro Hero 3 black edition to it yet.

dandrews1138
30th September, 2013 @ 11:13 am PDT

Nice video. If you could setup the DJI quadcopter gopro FPV then you've got the ultimate setup. Without the FPV, it's really hard to guage what you are recording.

Tony Lee
11th October, 2013 @ 04:47 pm PDT

@Tom Hirschmann: Was that video you shot of West Palm Beach taken with just adding a little Sorbothane and post (AE's Warp Stabilizer, perhaps)? Because I just looked at your YouTube channel and it appears you added a Gimbal to you toolbag at some point. Thanks in advance for the clarification.

Alex Martin
2nd January, 2014 @ 09:58 am PST

Thanks everyone! It's been a lot of fun flying and filming over the last year. The Phantom has it's limitations but it is an amazing way to get into AP for relatively cheap.

Check out my website, FlyByAP.com to see our more recent work. It's so much fun seeing where you can get a camera using multirotors. Here is something I shot this past summer using a slightly larger quadcopter.

www.youtube.com/watch?v=OQIBjNARnfw

@Alex Martin: That video was shot using a $25 servo and a gimbal I threw together with crap around the house. Sorbothane was used for vibration isolation your right on with Warp Stabilizer being need in post. I only use 15% so that it still has a bit of movement.

Hope that helps and let me know if I can provide any further clarification.

Tom Hirschmann
5th January, 2014 @ 08:41 am PST
Post a Comment

Login with your gizmag account:

Or Login with Facebook:


Related Articles
Looking for something? Search our 29,907 articles
Recent popular articles in Aircraft
Product Comparisons